How much orijen to feed? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-28-2013, 10:36 AM Thread Starter

How much orijen to feed?

I have been feeding Orijen LBP to my female GSD for about the past 2 months, she seems to be doing really well on it. But I don't know if I'm feeding too much or too little!!! She seems starving and gobbles it up in like 1 minute. I've been feeding 4 cups per day and she weighs about 53lbs at 7 months old. When I cut down to like 33/3 cups a day her poop was not mushy at the end. For the most part her poop's been very healthy looking, but is again a little soft at the end. I'm in the process of switching her to 5fish Orijen, how much should I be feeding her...trying to look it up online (I threw the bag away), everything's in grams and kilograms, and there's no way to know how many cups that equals since all brands will be different...I can't believe this is so complicated!! And I have 2 master's degrees! I feel like I am seeing her ribs a little more when she's twisting and playing, but not when she's just sitting there. Anyone feeding a 50ish # pup Orijen 5 fish??? How much do you feed?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-28-2013, 11:09 AM
Banned

i never fed my pup puppy food. i fed him 3 cups a day.
1 cup in the am, 1 cup noonish and 1 cup in the pm.
he also had a snack and training treats throughout the
day. it's great having 2 master degrees because you
know you can google how to convert grams and kilograms
to pounds.
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-28-2013, 11:43 AM
Elite Member

Feed what the bag says. Yes it seems like its not to much, that is the beauty of a great quality food, you feed less.

My pup gets a 1 1/3 a day right now and he is gaining weight and looks great. It gets increased to 1 1/2 this week.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-28-2013, 11:51 AM
Banned

are you saying your dog gets 1&1/3 cup a day or are you saying