4health puppy chow or a "Large Breed" - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-05-2010, 06:52 PM Thread Starter

4health puppy chow or a "Large Breed"

4Health is a decent dog food. 4 stars on dogfoodadvisor.com It's made by Diamond. I'm just not sure how it is for a GSD. My male puppy was raised on Purina Puppy Chow till I got him. The first 3-4 days I had him I bought the same, then Purina Pro Plan, then 4Health. I was dumb, but read enough on the net to learn *NO CORN* at least.. This is it: 4health Puppy Formula

I'm not an expert on what a GSD Large Breed needs compared to normal food.
He was 16# when I got him (I think?). 35# now. His birthday was 6/1 and he seems to be growing fast. His father was huge. I'm afraid the wife (and me maybe ) give him chicken, burger, and the juice from it when we cook. Dump a good bit on his normal kibble is all.

Are we doing ok? I know I'm doing way better than puppy chow, but a parent does worry. I took him to a vet for shots and was told Science Diet is the best.. I trust you guys more than I do vets. You don't have your hand in my wallet. TYVM for any insight.

- Joe
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-05-2010, 07:20 PM

I fed it to a puppy and had no problems

Pack leader for Heide, Chazz, Izabella, and Ivan.

At the Bridge: Chico and Atja
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-05-2010, 07:36 PM
Crowned Member

Science Diet and Puppy Chow are two of the worst kibbles you can feed. You want a kibble that's meat based since dogs are carnivores and both of those are very grain heavy.

Don't listen to you vets about good kibbles to feed because they always just try to push the crap they sell in their office which is typically science diet.

Also, i'd stop with the hamburger juice. That's really not healthy for a puppy but it's your dog. I definitely wouldn't do that. It's also going to create a picky eater.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement