10 wk old GSD puppy won't eat?? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 08-11-2010, 01:40 PM Thread Starter

10 wk old GSD puppy won't eat??

Hi there;

Sorry if this question has already been addressed somewhere else. I'm new and am hoping someone will be able to offer me a bit of good advice.

I adopted a German Shepherd pup about a week ago. He's now 10 weeks old. Since we got him, he hasn't had much of an appetite. He'll eat about half a cup of food, and then be done with it. Thing is, he'll only eat it that one time... I have to rotate foods every day to get him to eat anything. On top of that, he won't eat it out of the dish, I have to hand feed him.

I work as a vet tech, so I'm not a completely oblivious owner. I'm just at a loss, to be honest. My boss, who is a veterinarian, told me to keep rotating food until we find something that he'll eat more than once. But I hate to do that because of diarrhea, not to mention how much money I'm wasting on food. We're waiting for a fecal sample to come back to ensure he doesn't have any intestinal parasites.

He was infested with seed ticks when we got him; he had over 100 on him, which the breeder neglected to inform me. (I didn't realize until the day after we adopted him) So I was thinking that had something to do with the loss of appetite, but it's been 3 days since we ridded him of the ticks.

If anyone can offer any advice, I'd appreciate it. I've gone through 6 different types of canned food - he likes all of them, but will only eat it one time.

Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 08-11-2010, 02:14 PM
Knighted Member

As long as he's healthy and the vet has ruled out any medical issues then he is training you. If you continue to rotate food he will continue to snub anything he doesn't want. Get a good quality food and stick with it. A healthy dog will not strave itself to death.