• 2 Post By dogma13
  • 1 Post By sebrench
  • 5 Post By Bramble
  • 2 Post By tim_s_adams
  • 1 Post By Davefrida

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-01-2017, 09:55 AM Thread Starter

Shy pup doesn't like socializing!

Hey everyone, I'm new to this whole kind of thing with owning a german shepherd (actually it's my first dog), I'm curious to know if any other owners had a pup that didn't like socializing and was afraid of strangers, car noises, hesitant to walk forward during walks, alert of other dogs and barking, shy and timid. I talked to my Vet about it and she said it wasn't normal for a puppy to do that, originally the pup that I adopted was with his brother but parted ways due to the adoption fees. He is 3 months old and doesn't like to go out and explore walks, if he doesn't walk anymore I just carry him. To socialize a dog do we mean socializing with other dogs and people? because currently my dog has only been socializing with people and children, my brothers and sisters come inside his exercise pen to play with him every day, we go on walks minimum 2 times a day and play in the yard 3 times a day, I'm worried the shyness will eventually turn into fear aggression towards strangers, any help? Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-01-2017, 10:00 PM
Crowned Member

Some pups are not so bold and I won't push one that isn't, like your's. I think you're doing real well with him by taking it slow. Pups also go through fear periods.

These past threads can give you further information:

https://www.germanshepherds.com/forum...alization.html

https://www.germanshepherds.com/forum...ar-period.html

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Royal K9s Baron Sting DB 7/9/2017

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sting Chance von Gaard 2006-2017