Question about biting not teething. - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By DieselWeaselGSD

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-17-2017, 09:32 PM Thread Starter

Question about biting not teething.

I'm new to the whole process and I'm assuming that when you all say mouthing that would be simply seeking comfort for cutting teeth. Our 12 week old is just straight biting at this point. We do our best at redirection but even with the ouch or yelp, he seems to get more motivated by that.
He bites feet, hand, wrist and pretty much everything he can get to. I'm going to start taking him to puppy/obedience classes. Will this help with the biting? It comes and goes with him mostly when tired.
Both my wife and I work so he is at the puppy day care so he can eat lunch and not be at the house all alone. Should we just crate him at the house? His behavior is usually better during the weekend when we have him all day.
Sorry so long, we're just definitely concerned and looking for some insight or ideas. Thanks for any input.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-17-2017, 09:45 PM
Elite Member

I would keep him at home. Puppy daycare isn't all that it's cracked up to be. I think dogs pick up more bad behaviors there than anything else. Your puppy needs more down time than he is likely getting at daycare. He will grow up to be the kind of dog that is a busy body, wont settle, if all he is used to is endless play time with other puppies. This is a time in his life that he should not want anything more than to be with you. I would eliminate all daycare at this point. Maybe a few play sessions on weekends with dogs that you trust. I bet he is so tired and frustrated, he is taking it out on you. He should be fine being kept in a crate all day while you are at work. If you must, you can pay someone to come in and feed him till he is a little older.