How To Socialized A Puppy With Other People? - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 5Likes
  • 2 Post By Deb
  • 1 Post By kekipi
  • 1 Post By Milliegsd
  • 1 Post By konathegsd

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-27-2016, 02:23 AM Thread Starter

How To Socialized A Puppy With Other People?

Hello Everyone,

I am a college student looking at getting a GSD puppy. This puppy would likely be quite young (7-8 weeks) when I pick it up and I would start socialization immediately. I have heard plenty from other people about GSDs being "aloof" or not interested in interacting with new people. However, as a college student, I meet new people everyday (and so too would my dog). I'm afraid that this could lead to issues (i.e. people try to pet the pup who responds aggressively or fearfully). Does anyone have any tips for how to socialize the puppy so that he/she is friendly when meeting new people?

Thanks ahead.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-27-2016, 03:25 PM
Deb
Knighted Member

Give her/him time to adjust to you first. I take mine out to stores and places where dogs are allowed. I don't let everyone pet her. If people ask I would say yes, but only if she wants to meet you. I'd tell her to say hi. As a young pup she had no desire to, wouldn't walk over to them. I didn't let them walk up and lean down over her to pet her. I'd tell the people not today, maybe another time she'll be interested in meeting you. When she hit four months she started walking up to people and letting them pet her. She's five months old now and still will walk over to most people. There's no reason for your puppy to have to like other people, she/he just needs to be civil and ignore them if he/she doesn't want to be petted. If you force it you could create the very problems you're trying to avoid.
Suka and sebrench like this.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-27-2016, 04:33 PM
Elite Member