Advice for Cryptorchidism - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-12-2016, 11:14 PM Thread Starter

Advice for Cryptorchidism

So I have a 9 week old GSD who is around 23 pounds. Noticed his testicles did not descend so I took him to the vet. They informed me that if they didn't drop by now that they won't ever and want to neuter him at 6 months.
I am wondering if I should neuter him then or wait a bit longer? Does anyone have any experience with this? Thanks! First Puppy so my anxiety is driving me nuts.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1473736412797.jpg
Views:	334
Size:	82.6 KB
ID:	384586   Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1473736436863.jpg
Views:	333
Size:	80.7 KB
ID:	384594  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-13-2016, 02:28 AM

Im no expert but 6 months is too early for that i think. is it both testicles?

My dog has only one testicle and the other one is just not coming down. We are waiting til he is a year old at leasf

Ps- WHAT A CUTIE!
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-13-2016, 02:53 AM

If it were my dog I wouldn't be too worried about it at nine weeks old. If it does not show up by four months, that is more worrisome. Some vets say six months.

The issue you would need to address if the other does not come down, is that it should be removed. They almost always become cancerous if left inside the dog (it will -most likely- be in the abdomen somewhere) and the surgery to remove it is usually uneventful.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-13-2016, 03:42 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey-and-chandler View Post
Im no expert but 6 months is too early for that i think. is it both testicles?

My dog has only one testicle and the other one is just not coming down. We are waiting til he is a year old at leasf

Ps- WHAT A CUTIE!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irie View Post