14 week puppy and other dog socialization - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Kyrielle

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-02-2016, 03:57 PM Thread Starter

14 week puppy and other dog socialization

Hi, I'm new here as well as new to the breed. I've had a lab, golden, and husky before getting my GSD Ripley who is currently 14 weeks.

I'm not sure what to make of her behavior around other dogs. She seems to be having some poor reactions to them. Always barking at them (which I correct) and many of the dogs she's interacted with seem to dislike her and become aggressive. She in turn, tends to start responding aggressively. She is not the kind of pup to back down. I'm not sure if we've had bad luck or if she's giving off some kind of energy dogs don't like. By the way, I'm not an expert in dog training by any means but I get basic obedience stuff and how dogs work, and I am alpha. So I'm not too concerned about having a strong willed and brave pup.

We live with a 12 year old golden who she gets along fine with.

Are GSDs in general harder to get along with other dogs? I am getting slightly worried that she won't be friendly with other dogs and want to correct it before it gets worse. Any thoughts or advice is welcome.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-02-2016, 05:29 PM
Crowned Member

never mind alpha.

at this age I don't think this is evidence of strong willed and brave ---- probably quite the opposite -- probably feeling vulnerable and frightened . And then you go and correct her adding to her tension and discomfort because now she is getting "it" from all sides.

when she freaks out --- take her to your side , calm her down , and since you get basic obedience stuff , control the other dogs to go lie down --- control them, while you control her , so that they are all in the same environment without feeling intimidated or hostile . The new dog is the interloper --

Carmen