Gait training - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-26-2011, 09:52 AM Thread Starter

Gait training

So after reading and contemplating the "Gangly and Awkward" thread, I feel my 8mos old GSD has an awkward gait. I'm a first time GSD owner, so I have no prior experience to draw on. I've watched a few YouTube video's of other GSD's trotting/gait training and conclude that my boy is out of synch. He doesn't have that smooth, synchronized stride I watched in 5mos old pups. Even smoother in older, more mature GSD's (obviously). Zeus is all front legs. At a fast walking pace, his front end bob's up and down vs. a smooth, shoulder level stride. Almost resembles a limp.

He is an active player. Jumps willingly. Up and down steps. Loves to go down slides! Jumps in and out of my 4Runner - no problem. Full sprints when we play - much prettier stride. I've had his hips checked on two previous vet visits - last one over 3 months ago - and everything checked out. Breeder hasn't had any prior hip issues with offspring.

Am I frettting over nothing? Will he grow out of this or do I need to "gait train" him? Thanks for the feedback.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-26-2011, 10:29 AM
Crowned Member

No you don't need to gait train him. Gait training is for show dogs trotting around in circles. Your dog will move how he moves when at free play - you can't "train" him to move in a more coordinated fashion.

Are you sure he isn't limping? Has he been watched by a vet?
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-26-2011, 10:40 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rerun View Post
No you don't need to gait train him. Gait training is for show dogs trotting around in circles. Your dog will move how he moves when at free play - you can't "train" him to move in a more coordinated fashion.

Are you sure he isn't limping? Has he been watched by a vet?