Irritated.. very much... trying to do a good job... stupid dog owners... my rant - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 08-14-2011, 01:59 AM Thread Starter
Banned

Irritated.. very much... trying to do a good job... stupid dog owners... my rant

Ok so I'm not a rocket scientist and I'm not the Dog Whisperer. Conceded. But what is with totally clueless people, seriously. Went to a friend's house to sit around a bonfire tonight. They were babysitting a friend's dog that went camping (um why aren't you taking your dog camping?) and this Basset (male, 4 y/o, neutered) was very dominating over my pup. They thought the dogs should "work it out." Um no. In my eyes, I'm the protector of my pup, he must see me as that and I stepped in - simply using my own body to back him down and he did back down... but seriously.

Earlier in the same night, I took my pup to meet my brother's dog (Aus Shephard, about 2-3 yrs old) and the Aussie was not receptive - not outright mean, but not open at all, chasing the pup back out of the play area... Most likely this was due to jealousy, since the Aussie and another dog in that home (a one year old Boston Terrier, female, spayed) normally play, and my pup was getting the attention of the Boston. All that was said after all of this was that the Aussie was the greatest dog ever and the Boston was "the perfect dog."

The Aussie is a good boy, but not trained, not socialized and hyper as all get out due to lack of the extreme exercise needs he has... the Boston has no training, but does have a very sweet disposition but is controlled by her owner via FEAR - "Come HERE BELLA, Come HERE" all said in a very deep, commanding, scary voice. (and if she doesn't come, she's going to GET IT.)