Socialization and Dog Day Care? HELP? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-29-2010, 08:05 PM Thread Starter
Knighted Member

Socialization and Dog Day Care? HELP?

Today at puppy class the trainer mentioned that I might want to consider a few days a week for a month or two taking Jake (15 weeks) to a doggie daycare so he can learn better skills with other dogs. He doesn't have any aggression towards people or other dogs but she said his skills on how to communicate and play with others would improve greatly by taking him somewhere to be with other dogs, that they teach each other better and faster then we can.

Please folks weigh in on this one, I am not sure how I feel about dropping Jake off for the day to play with other dogs, one would assume that other owners take care of their dogs if they are willing to spend that much money to entertain their dogs, right? And what about if the play gets too rough?

I have no experience with dog parks and have read mixed reviews on the theory of parks.
Let me add, Jake goes everywhere with me...pet stores, local parks, hiking, free outdoor concerts...and when he does see other dogs of course he is interested in playing...I need help of experienced GSD owners to help guide me here. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 05-29-2010, 08:18 PM
Crowned Member

In my opinion, I could care less how my dog "plays" with others...as long as they aren't reactive to others its all good. But I do have 3 GSD's for exercising/playtime. Never had a singleton dog.
If he is acting without manners it is then up to me to keep him in line, but daycare would not be in my thoughts(I am too protective). You can teach a dog how to be mannerly without sending them to a daycare. And it sounds to me that is what you are doing with the way you socialize him.