Help I have a new puppy - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-10-2010, 10:41 AM Thread Starter

Send a message via Yahoo to akittrell
Help I have a new puppy

I am a vet tech and I am very knowlegable in helping animals however I am new to raising a GSD. I have 4 other dogs. i have to min schnauzers in the house a black mouth cur and spitz outside. I have the puppy in right now but he will be going outside i have not socialized him with my outside dogs yet i was afraid they would hurt him by playing to rough. should i start introducing them now? any advice is welcome i just want a happy and healthy puppy.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-10-2010, 11:00 AM
Banned

Send a message via AIM to ChancetheGSD Send a message via Yahoo to ChancetheGSD
He should be socialized to your dogs already and he should be out socializing with people and other animals that you know are vaccinated and of good temperament. You should also look into puppy classes for early socialization and training.

Besides that, what is the point of getting a dog if it's just going to live outside? German Shepherds thrive on being with their pack INSIDE.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-10-2010, 11:13 AM
Knighted Member

Welcome akittrell and congratulations on your new family member. As a vet tech you know about the vaccines. At six weeks, I would monitor the activity between your pack. Introduce slowly and keep a close eye on your group. You do want to continue to keep the separation as you've been doing so that you can work on and strengthen your own bonding with your new family member but letting the pup interact with the other dogs (under supervision!) for a while should be fine.

Being a vet tech, you may be tempted to take him in to the vet more often. I would avoid that and would carry him whenever you take him in for his checks and shots. Same for whenever a lot of dogs may frequent-keep him off the ground!