Can an expert send me a message to help me critique? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-08-2014, 11:15 AM Thread Starter
Elite Member

Can an expert send me a message to help me critique?

I have a couple of concerns with Lena, and since I'm not very experienced with conformation, can someone send me a message? I don't know if I should post more pictures again since I put probably too many out there. I just need some guidance on structure and things I should look out for.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-08-2014, 11:27 AM
Banned

There's really nothing you can do about conformation. What is your worry? Most GSDs don’t have “terrible” conformation. You might not win any shows, but it’s rarely crippling. Best thing to do would be to just post pictures, but at a young age…it’s hard to see some things.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-08-2014, 11:34 AM Thread Starter
Elite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by martemchik View Post
There's really nothing you can do about conformation. What is your worry? Most GSDs don’t have “terrible” conformation. You might not win any shows, but it’s rarely crippling. Best thing to do would be to just post pictures, but at a young age…it’s hard to see some things.
Well, maybe this is something that can be answered then...If you are looking at a GSD from the tail end, are the withers (if that is the right word) supposed to be sloped kind of like an oval, or squared off? I just didn't know if the shape of the hips could be an indicator of future issues...I hope that doesn't sound too dumb so my apologies if I am not explaining very well.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-08-2014, 11:42 AM
The Administrator from the Great White North, eh?

The withers is the hump just above the shoulders - I think you mean the croup.