Pictures of wini, 14 months - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-29-2009, 02:18 PM Thread Starter

Pictures of wini, 14 months

Here are a few recent pictures of wini. Could you guys answer the questions: Is it a good stack? Is her conformation good(any faults, just critique it!)? and any other comments for each picture.

I really want to get into showing! I saw a guy showing a GSD and he actually led the dog right into a stack. He didn't hand stack him the dog just did it. How do you train a GSD to stack? Or is it something that isn't really trainable. (Yeah I know, I'm a beginner!!)

http://i277.photobucket.com/albums/k...cture241-1.jpg

http://i277.photobucket.com/albums/k...Picture244.jpg

This one isn't very good:
http://i277.photobucket.com/albums/k...Picture242.jpg

Also I was a little confused when I saw some people stacking there GSD. Some had there dogs standing like on their hock and some didn't. Are they supposed to stand on their hocks?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-29-2009, 02:39 PM
Crowned Member

Re: Pictures of wini, 14 months

It's hard to make any comments because the angle is off. You need the dog perpendicular to the camera, and the camera at the level of the dog. Not from the front, back, above, etc.

Yes, you can train them to stack. Like any type of training, some are more "naturals" than others.

People stack there dogs different depending on how they (or the judges) want them to look.

I like my dog stacked like this
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-29-2009, 10:38 PM
Crowned Member

Send a message via AIM to Xeph Send a message via Yahoo to Xeph

Free stacking is most certainly possible...Justin threw a gorgeous one today at an exhibition after his down and back.

This is just one of his free stacks:

Wini wouldn't do well in AKC conformation most likely. If she's not spayed you could try her in the SV style shows, but I'm not sure how they'd care for her.