Horand von Grafrath pedigree - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 5Likes
  • 1 Post By cloudpump
  • 1 Post By Ken Clean-Air System
  • 3 Post By Chip Blasiole

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-11-2018, 10:49 PM Thread Starter

Horand von Grafrath pedigree

Okay, I consider myself an above-average researcher. But I've never been able to find answers to a couple basic questions:

1. Who were Horand's parents (i.e. what breed) and
2. Who were the dams that produced Heinz von Starkenburg, Beowolf and Pilot?

Really, what I'm curious to know is what specific breeds went into creating the GSD. The closest I've been able to get to an answer is on this link, which looks like a family tree: Horand von Grafrath (Hektor Linksrhein) But I'm a hobbyist, not expert, and don't understand all the pedigree lingo.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-11-2018, 10:57 PM
Elite Member

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Old_German_herding_dogs

Essentially this is where they came from. Dogs that herded well. They were bred and inbred to create a type.
Majority of the dogs that compete in HGH in Germany are old herding dogs, with no set type

Snitches get stitches.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-12-2018, 08:31 AM
Master Member

To be a little more specific - the GSD was developed from 3 different regional types of dogs. Horand, I believe, represented the Thuringian regional type. The other types that were included in early development of the breed were the Wurttemberg and Swabian dogs. None were what we would call 'breeds', but regional types that were bred for purposes suiting their environment and the work they were required to do.

Max von Stephanitz and others combined these three types, through line breeding and inbreeding, to establish the breed we know today.
gsdforever850 likes this.

Tom
Omen v Wolfstraum
Jasmine Katie v Doolanshaus
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-12-2018, 08:56 AM
Master Member