Spay at what age? What to do when GSD is in heat? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-27-2008, 01:15 PM Thread Starter

Spay at what age? What to do when GSD is in heat?

Hello everyone!
I was looking for recent topics about spaying, but just found a lot of topics about Neutering...so i'm creating this post.

Ruby is going onto her 4th month. Mind you, this is my first time owning a GSD and I've never had a female dog before...so i need advice.
Any way, I've been browsing the internet in regards to spaying GSDs..some say do it at 4 months...some say 2 years.
I guess this is somewhat similar to the "Neutering at what age" topic..and I've considered to do her when she's 2 yrs old..or when she's mature enough...

but i've never seen a female dog go into heat...and i've heard a lot of things that I should deal with when she does go in season.
Like keeping her indoors at all times for like 3 weeks or 4...no walking in the park (which she loves so much)...not even let her outside the backyard...(i've read my county's rules regarding dogs in heat and had strict rules about not letting them outside...period)

I want whats best for her and want to wait till she matures...but I am a bit overwhelmed when the time comes for her to be "in season"

But big question is...what DO you do when the time comes???????
what should I do to prepare for this?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-27-2008, 01:27 PM
Master Member

Re: Spay at what age? What to do when GSD is in heat?