Deshedder and Undercoat Rake differences? - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-06-2018, 05:09 AM Thread Starter
Master Member

Deshedder and Undercoat Rake differences?

I've been trying to look it up online but couldn't find specific answers. What's the difference between a deshedder and an undercoat rake? Deshedding and dematting, what's the difference?

I've never used an undercoat rake before. I groom my dog every other day; I deshed him, spray some dog perfume (detangler), and finish with a regular brush (and a treat of course!).

Is an undercoat rake a daily necessity for GSDs?

Thanks guys!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-06-2018, 07:45 AM

I would say no, not necessary. I only used the rake on long, double coats. Collies, Chows and the like. I deshed with a curved slicker. You scoop the coat backwards on a dry dog. I also use it in the tub, soaped up, brush through, gets them clean to the skin and removes a ton of hair. Then while I'm rinsing, I'm brushing, even more hair.

Matts are from dead coat that is not brushed out. They are solid clumps and on Shepherds, come out pretty easily. Shedding is more individual hairs that are loose and clog the vacuum brush....

No beast so fierce
Simon 6/2016
EPI, man aggressive, ball crazy, fearless protector, my heart
Old 08-06-2018, 09:20 AM
Elite Member

I use the rake on the parts of my dog that have really long hair: back of the hind legs, tail, top of the rump and around her neck/shouders (mane area). I also use it on her flanks, because the pressure from her lying on those areas makes the hair mat.

I only need it on my show line girl, because her coat is longer and thicker, and does tend to mat a bit in some areas.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-06-2018, 09:50 AM
Crowned Member

Undercoat rake - loosens and pulls out loose undercoat on either long coats or stock coats. (Fluffy parts of stock coats as haunches and ruff)