Preventative medications for North East/Canada - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 04:10 PM Thread Starter

Preventative medications for North East/Canada

Hello everyone, I have a question for everyone. As you can probably guess, I'm in the North East region of North America, I'm actually just an hour North of NY state in Ottawa, Canada. It's that time of year again where we have to start thinking about mosquitoes, ticks etc. I've been giving my girl Revolution for her 3 years now and I've seen no issues with it. We get a lot of mosquitoes, deer flies etc up here but also a lot of ticks. My dog is a magnet for ticks! I pull probably a dozen a year off her until it gets too cold and the little pieces of crap hide again.
Anyway, I will continue with the Revolution, but my vet is now selling Simparica. I read a bit about it and I'm not so sure, it's too new I think.
So question for everyone, what do you guys give your dogs? My girl gets Lyme vaccines every year but that's not nearly as effective as you'd want it to be. Do you guys give your dogs anything for all the different types of worms? I know we get two types of ticks here, we get little black ticks, they for sure carry Lyme, and these big grey coloured things.
I really hate giving my dog these chemicals but I'd rather do that than have her die on me from something preventable. I was thinking maybe we could all share some experiences with different meds specific to north east?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 04:13 PM Thread Starter

I'll add to my own post and say that I've seen Bravecto mentioned several times as a tick treatment
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 07:40 PM