what should i do first thing in the morning? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-21-2014, 03:51 PM Thread Starter

what should i do first thing in the morning?

Hi Guys and Girls

we recently adopted two GSD's (they are around a year and 6 months to 2 years old) and I really want to minimize the risk of bloating as much as I can.

now when i wake up in the morning (around 6), should i take them out for a short walk on our street and then let them drink water , after that wait 30 mins to an hour and let them eat OR should i let them drink water first , then go for a short walk, and when they come back, let them drink again and wait 30 mins to eat.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-21-2014, 04:01 PM
Elite Member

i'm a noob at this stuff but i think you might be over thinking things. i just make sure they don't drink a lot of water within a half hour of eating and don't rough play or run like lunatics for an hour after eating. you can walk them first, water them first, feed them first, whatever fits your schedule. as long as they don't get a lot of water or movement just after eating you'll be fine.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-21-2014, 09:00 PM
Crowned Member

First thing in the morning, I would let the the dogs out if you have a fenced in backyard or walk them for a short while if you don't so they can potty. Then as Scarfish recommended, do what best fits your schedule. I have to say that I leave water out all the time, feed 3 times a day, and the strenuous exercise isn't until an hour after eating.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Royal K9s Baron Sting DB 7/9/2017

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sting Chance von Gaard 2006-2017
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-21-2014, 09:08 PM
Crowned Member