German Shepherds Forum banner

Dew claw removal...best age to do?

14K views 16 replies 11 participants last post by  Zoeys mom 
#1 ·
Every pup I have ever owned came with dew claws already removed, however, Zoes are not. We are an active outdoor family and the chances of Zoe tearing one in my opinion is good, and something I would like to avoid. As a former vet tech I have just seen too many torn completely off, hanging, or split and know how painful and costly that is after the fact so their definitely going, but when? She is 12 weeks now and won't be spayed until two, but is this developmentally a bad age to have this done, and if so when is the best time?

#2 ·
You do mean the back leg dewclaws?
Those are usually done at a couple days old if they are there.
I was stupid and had Onyx's front ones removed(vets advice, they curled outward) when she was spayed. They must have seen lots of retriever/bird dogs, and it is standard procedure there.
I kick myself for being talked into it. I'd rather take my chances on a tear.
The recovery of the dewclaw removal was harder than the spay. If you are planning on having this done, do it when the dog won't get the vetwrap wet constantly...I had to change it almost every time Onyx went out, we were in a rainy weather pattern.

#3 ·
I was planning on having them all done since she will be hiking and climbing trails with us often, and the front claws are usually the ones torn first which is my concern. I know not every dog tears them, but its horrific when it happens and usually results in the others being removed anyway. I've never had a dog with any- is it uncommon for the front to be removed?

#6 ·
I've never had a problem with the front dew claws and never had a dog with rear dew claws. If anything my dogs seem to have used the front claws occasionally. I'd leave the front ones on, i know some vets (especially old school ones) sell dew claw removal hard, but there's no need.

#7 ·