Post Op (neuter) expectations and care - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-25-2010, 11:12 PM Thread Starter
Crowned Member

Post Op (neuter) expectations and care

I made the appointment for Kelso today to be neutered. Dan and I will be on vacation next week so decided it would be a good time to do it so we will be there 24/7 for our guy..

Meeka was spayed emergently due to pyometra which was a long time ago before we were married/living together so I was not really there 24/7 (and she was really sick so I am hoping that recovery time for this is much better) , Allie was spayed before she came to us from rescue, so I just feel like I have no experience with basic post op spay/neuter care as well as post op expectations.

I talked to the vet awhile back but nothing in detail and have not spoken with him since I made the appt today. So I was wondering with all the experience here if you all could tell me a bit more about it? I will be talking with the vet in more detail but think I need all the help I can get.

We will be taking him in at 730 am and picking him up after 330pm. What should I expect? anticipate? Any special preparation for home? And what about recuperation time? He is so so active on a daily basis.....will he be wanting to "go" much sooner than he should? What do you do about that!!!!? Also, with two dogs any tips? Allie will be sweet, I know, but we may need to keep them seperated for a bit?

So basically just whatever info you can offer to help, or reassurance..

Kelso is 3.5 yrs old, not sure if that matters. Also, just out of curiosity... for pre op blood work, pain meds/anesthesia, plus the procedure the total is around $340-360. There is no way we are going to go somewhere else as this vet has known Dan (husband) since Meeka was a pup (16yrs??) and known Kels his whole life. So that is worth its weight in gold. But was just curious to how this compares?

Thanks all!

-Steph

GSD's