Any Groomers on the board? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-29-2009, 11:07 AM Thread Starter
Knighted Member

Send a message via AIM to Mandalay Send a message via Yahoo to Mandalay
Any Groomers on the board?

Do we have any groomers on the board? What led you there? What do you like the most? The least (besides anal sacs)?

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
Mandalay, GSD, CGC, DOB 01-31-08
Mazy, White Boxer, DOB ? Sometime in 2010 we think
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-29-2009, 01:54 PM
Crowned Member

Re: Any Groomers on the board?

I'm not a professional groomer but I do clip my own dogs.

I would NEVER be a professional groomer due to the fact that I end up with tiny pieces of dog hair stuck in my skin!! I have to use a magnifying glass and tweezers to get them all out - very irritating!!
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-29-2009, 02:37 PM

i'll answer for my friend who's here with me -- she gave her dog a funky haircut and was then approached by the owner of a grooming shop asking if she'd like to go further. 2 months of paid training... and she's a professional groomer.

worst part about her job is how unrealistic the clients are. they expect you to turn this into this w/o mentioning that the dog bites, barks, scratches, and won't sit still.

TILDEN: Male: Blk/Red LHGSD: DOB: 12/24/06 65lbs of Love
KEYSTONE: Male: Sable: DOB: 2/11/13 55lbs of Go!!!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-31-2009, 04:30 PM

I am not a groomer, but one of my best friends is -- and I have helped her many times when her asst groomer is out, but I only bathe, dry and help brush out. She has done the nails, anal glands when needed, the ears and the actual trimming/cutting -- that kind of thing.