To shave or not to shave, what is the answer? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-14-2009, 10:00 PM Thread Starter

To shave or not to shave, what is the answer?

Grooming ? I was told that by shaving Nadia's fur that it would help her keep cool during the summer and decrease shedding. I'm no expert but it sounds too good to be true. Nadia is not a LH as you can see and she currently eats Canidae all life stages mixed with Longevity. I have a german shedder here as well. I was reading other threads and not sure what "blowing coat" means. One thread mentioned "sheps" shed in the spring and fall, someone better tell Nadia that cuz she didn't get the message for that one. It sure does get hot here in the central valley so I'd appreciate any advice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-14-2009, 10:17 PM

Re: To shave or not to shave, what is the answer?

I would NOT shave her!. First, shaving a dog like this can cause the dog to get sunburn because they do not have the proper protection. It is also possible that the hair will not grow back properly. The coat of the dog acts as an insulator and helps to keep them cool in the summer and warm in the winter. A good grooming or brushing at home should help to get rid of the undercoat and loose hairs. I brush my dogs on a fairly regular basis- maybe once a week with an undercoat rake and a shedding tool. Bathe as needed- mine get it a few times a year. Please DO NOT SHAVE HER!

Dianna
Argo vom Wildhaus SchH 3, AWD 1, P1, RN, TT, CGC, HOT
Eris vom Wildhaus SchH 3,IPO3 P1, OAJ, OA, NF, RN, TT, CGC, HOT
Isis vom Wildhaus KAB (kick-ass bitch)OB1, TR1, BH, CGC
Nova vom Wildhaus
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-14-2009, 10:19 PM
Crowned Member

Lovely girl!