Supermarket tips? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-01-2008, 12:00 PM Thread Starter
Master Member

Supermarket tips?

I've been feeding 1/2 premade/ground raw and 1/2 RMB but I'm considering cutting out the ground stuff. The problem is, my freezer space is limited so I can't order in bulk. My funds are also limited so the cheaper the better! I just found beef heart at the store today, is that a normal item? There was only one but it was 1.29/lb, not too bad. (At least compared to other beef products) Are there any other good/cheap muscle meats?

I'm a vegetarian so I have no experience buying meat and would love any tips you have. I'm trying to stick to beef, chicken, and turkey since I've heard pork and lamb may be too rich.

Is there a certain day of the week or month when everything is usually cheapest? Also, which is cheaper/healthier, chicken organs or beef organs?

P.S. Sorry for the 9380384 questions at once.

Brenna: GSD Born 7/16/06
Mollie: Beagle
Fezzik: GSD/Husky/Golden?
Chewy: Shih tzu/Yorkie
Crunchy: Pug/Schnauzer?
Monty: GSD born 5/24/14
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-01-2008, 12:08 PM
Knighted Member

Re: Supermarket tips?

Muscle meat is much harder to find under 1.00 per pound (which is what I try to stick to) than RMB's from what I've seen. I seek out ethnic markets (Asian and Hispanic seem to be the best) and look there. I do feed pork to mine, and large pork roasts work well when on sale. I just cut them into chunks. Chicken organs are usually quite inexpensive and can come with whole chickens that I end up butchering for RMB's.

John
- Zahar vom Leerburg "Lowen"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

- Diesel vom Kriegershaus "Diesel" BH

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-01-2008, 12:10 PM