German Shepherds Forum banner

Over protective and aggressive to other dogs

3K views 18 replies 5 participants last post by  bwingler 
#1 ·
I got my GSD when she was 9 months old and she is now 15 months old, She has a total bond with me and i'm with her 24/7. I am a disabled veteran so i have all the time in the world for her, my problem is i am worried that she may take it up a notch and bite. She only does this at home, when we are out in public she tolerates people but wants to attack other dogs if they approach us, She totally disregards my commands and wants to take the lead in both situations.

Tomorrow i am taking her to the same trainer i used for all our one on one training for her obedience training. The difference this time is they will be training her without me there and said they should have her trained in 2 weeks, i know the trainer and they dont use shock collars or nothing like that, she is very good trainer/handler.

To me its going to be so hard leaving her there and i keep telling myself it is for her own good to fix it now before she hurts a person or another dog, she is family to me and is all i have. I dont skimp on her care and training. My question to all of you with more experience then i have is will her trust and bond be broken in 2 weeks without me and am i doing the right thing letting a professional do this?

Thanks for any and all advice

Attachments

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
Tomorrow i am taking her to the same trainer i used for all our one on one training for her obedience training. The difference this time is they will be training her without me there and said they should have her trained in 2 weeks, i know the trainer and they dont use shock collars or nothing like that, she is very good trainer/handler.