German Shepherds Forum banner

Muzzles & Wrestling

2K views 9 replies 6 participants last post by  NancyJ 
#1 ·
Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to the whole world of GSDs and was wondering if I could get some input. Alpha is currently around 12 weeks old and I was wondering if it would be a bad thing to get him a muzzle. My roommate and I were discussing this and our reasoning is that we would like him to be able to roam more freely around the house, especially after he pees and poops. We feel that putting him in his crate most of the day might stall his development, but the problem is when we let him run around he bites EVERYTHING. This usually isn't a problem since we always watch him, but we would also like him to run freely without our supervision, hence the muzzle. Is this a bad idea?

Also, I was reading another thread about playing rough with your dog which most people seem to have no problem with. I was told by a friend that playing rough and wrestling/pinning the dog down will make you seem like you're the one in charge. Is this true? Sometimes when he bites me I'll use my hands to close his mouth and pin him to the ground. He usually whines a little but that's about it. Does anyone have other suggestions as to how to establish myself as the alpha male?

Finally, in regards to biting... he just won't stop, no matter what I try. Are some dogs just like this? I heard they usually stop around 5-6 months. My hands and forearms are all scratched up and it's getting a bit annoying.

Thanks!

See less See more
#4 ·
he's 12 weeks old, he's a puppy, and they bite and chew ALOT at this age..No I wouldn't muzzle him either, keep him on a long line and supervise supervise supervise.

Get some stuff to gnaw on, he could be teething, give him some ice cubes or freeze some kibble in water, for doggie food cubes..get him a raw bone (but he may get diarhea from it if he's not used to them)..

Get him OUT AND ABOUT, take him for a walk:)

#10 ·