questions about e-collar functions - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-11-2014, 11:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Administrator & LOTR Addict

Default questions about e-collar functions

** These questions were posted by lalachka in another thread. ADMIN

few questions. what's the point of 100 levels? it's nice to have the first 20 to find the low working level but after that I think 10 levels would do. is there really a difference between 42 and 43 or 76 and 77? I'm sure there's a slight difference in stim but what's a scenario where you'd choose 76 over 77? I find myself just picking numbers around 30 for emergencies (never went higher)

I'm just starting out, have some patience if you're going to explain

and another. I asked this in another thread but didn't get an answer. how do people know the stim isn't consistent and what does that mean? it stims sometimes and doesn't other times? or the levels aren't consistent?
if it's the levels then how do you find that out?
lhczth is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-11-2014, 11:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Administrator & LOTR Addict

lalachka,

When using the collar as a way to guide the dog into a behavior, instead of just a correction collar, you want the ability to be able to subtly adjust the stim level up and down depending on the response from the dog. Simple explanation.

Inconsistent stim: