What training method should I use? Help me help this sad girl!! - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-26-2012, 11:29 AM   #1 (permalink)

Arrow What training method should I use? Help me help this sad girl!!

My friend has asked for my help in training her Pit Bull. I am not a professional trainer nor have I trained a dog that didn't live in our home. I do believe I am her last hope and I want to make sure I am prepared before I get started with her.

She is 6 yrs old. She was spayed march of 2011. About 6 mos after her spay she started with severe fem dog aggression, small animal aggression, and fear of thunder. She has killed a couple of rabbits and a small fem dog. She is so terrified of thunder she ripped up a storm door trying to get inside while my friend was at work. She is stuck in a run outside 24/7 now.

My first thought was something happened during her surgery appointment. My friend said that they all absolutely loved her! One of the techs just feel in love with her. So that tells me she didn't try to fight strange dogs at the vet. She still loves people, thankfully that isn't a problem!

Something has changed, now I have to figure it out and fix it. If this doesn't work I am afraid her only 2 options are a sad lonely life in the run or pts

Before anyone starts to judge we have tried to seek help from a local rescue, absolutely no response from them. I can understand she has a home and there are plenty of PBs without issues that need homes but they could at least answer me. My friend does not want to rehome her to someone else that can not help her. And she is a huge liability.

I would love to bring her into my home to rehab her but we have 2 fem dogs and 2 cats.