German Shepherds Forum banner

How to get 8wk pup to stop chewing on carpet and electrical wires?

3K views 12 replies 6 participants last post by  nktigger99 
#1 ·
Some of the carpet is coming up around the edges and she thinks its a toy or something. She will go over to the carpet and rip it apart. I have to usually go in her mouth to retrieve the carpet pieces so she doesnt swallow them. I also have caught her trying to rip the lamp cord out of the wall. I dont want her to get hurt so I usually give her a big shove and say NO! I have no idea how to make this dog stop chewing without force.

Im a totally newbie to training (except I have trained her to sit :) )..Any threads, videos, advice you could point me to?

Also, The biting is getting crazy she goes after my hands, arms, calves every chance she gets. For instance if im on my knees cleaning out her crate she will go right after my feet..I was playing with her on the ground for a bit (like a dog I guess) but read that I shouldnt do that. Like I said...total newbie.

Thanks

#2 ·
If the dog continues to chew on electrical cords, you may not have to worry about it.

Seriously, that is VERY dangerous. It can kill a puppy.

So, you need to ONLY let the puppy have access to ANY dangerous area when you are paying attention and then you need to divert him to something appropriate. Saying EH! or NO! MINE! and then showing him something he can have and saying in an easier voice, Yours, and give it to him.

If necessary, keep a lead on the dog and do not allow him access to the cords, though it is best to teach him to not mess with the cords.

#3 ·
I know what your talking about. I actually was playing with her and did the whole bite inhibition thing and left the room, which was for not even 20 seconds. When I looked back I noticed she was not in my site and trying to rip the cord out of the wall.