German Shepherd Dog Forums

German Shepherd Dog Forums (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/)
-   Tracking (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/tracking/)
-   -   Is this Exceptional? (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/tracking/196225-exceptional.html)

Blitzkrieg1 12-12-2012 04:40 PM

Is this Exceptional?

So I am completely new to tracking, I have just done some basic reading about it and never much more.
I have a 10 month old GSD female who I have never done any nosework with. Lots of OB but no nose work.

Yesterday I layed tracks for the first time. Ground was frozen/wet with a light snow covering.
Track 1: Placed the dog in a down stay. Then layed a 40ish yard track in a straight line. Ever other step or so I dropped bits of cheese and crushed it into my prints. At the end I placed the tennis ball with a treat on top.
Hitched the dog to the long line, pointed at the ground and said search. Her nose went down and she immidiately found the first piece of cheese. From then on it was nose to the ground did some zig zaging but mostly stayed in exacly the track I had layed. Was on the tennis ball in about 1 minute.

Track 2:
Later that day drove to field she has never been in. Left her in the car, then layed another 40ish yard track with dry treats this time about every other or third step. Placed my car keys at the end with a treat on them. This track crossed recent foot prints of a dog and person.
Took the dog out of the car hitched her up told her to search. Off she goes does some zigging and zagging about two times kinda gets a bit off track, all I said was "your off the track!" and she immidiately gets back on the track gets about half the treats but pulls me right to the keys she sniffs around them for a few seconds the second her nose touches them I praise and reward with her ball. Track took about 1 minute.