German Shepherds Forum banner

Getting a high-quality import dog.

11K views 47 replies 28 participants last post by  blackshep 
#1 ·
Hello everyone!

My name is Angel, I'm currently a student in Animal Care as well as a part-time kennel attendant. I have spent the last 5 years researching everything possible about dogs as well as the German Shepherd breed. I want to be a small, home-based breeder of working-line German Shepherds.

I would really like to import a male from outside North America that will have an excellent pedigree with a line strong in Schutzhund. The only problem is that I have NO idea where to start looking.

If somebody has imported a pup or stud from outside of North America, could you please outline the process for me? I'd really appreciate any advice or information on how to go about importing a dog. Any suggestions or recommendations as far as WHERE to get the dog?

Thank you so much in advance.

~ Angel

#3 ·
There are some excellent breeders here in NA of the type of dog you are looking for. I can think of about 6 or 7 I would recommend off the top of my head.

There is nothing against importing but when you add in the shipping and the fact that most European Breeders do NOT have any warrantees on health, temperament or working ability. You get what they send you. Not all are like this but...... personally I would rather buy a pup in the States (or Canada) from a breeder that are more prone to develop a long term relationship with you. Someone that you can go to when you are ready to breed/whelp/raise your first litter, etc.

My biggest issue right now are there are several breeders I would LOVE to get a pup from but I can't get them all at once.

#4 ·
There is also the really REAL risk of getting WAY more (or less) dog than you bargained for if importing an adult.

I know of more than one person that has imported an adult and has gotten a dog that they can NOT handle. And these are experienced handlers.

#5 ·