Should I even try to show my dog? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2013, 03:02 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Should I even try to show my dog?

Ok, I would love to get into showing my GSD in conformation, mainly just for the fun of it. I already show her in Obedience, Rally and starting her in schutzhund. She has great drive and does well in all those sports and I want to try conformation. I am aware that her color is not the normal standard colors. Should I just not bother to enter her into a show? or do you think I could still enter her without getting laughed out of the ring? I am a total newbie to GSD conformation and just trying to learn and decide if I should try to enter a show or not. She is AKC registered. Thank you in advanced! She just turned a year old.
Attached Thumbnails
Should I even try to show my dog?-sasha-stacked-back-yard.jpg  
kriegerhund is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-08-2013, 03:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Crowned Member

I saw someone with a blue at the last show i went to. They didn't win, but everyone was too busy gaping at the dog's sound structure to laugh or anything. The one person who did react rudely was met with severe disapproval and in the end, the dog came in second ( only lacked first due to coloring). But it really depends on the particular people at the show. Some are relaxed and fun. Others are quite rude and put you down.
Old 01-08-2013, 03:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Crowned Member