collars, leashes, martingales, etc - need recommendations - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2012, 03:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Elite Member

Default collars, leashes, martingales, etc - need recommendations

In three weeks Sabra and I will enter our first AKC "B" match. I am also going to show her sire as well. While I have 18 years of conformation show experience, everything with German Shepherds is different. They stack differently and they are not gaited around the ring by your left hip. None of the leashes, leads and collars that I have used for my other dogs will work for these two German Shepherds. My current leashes and leads are white and they are too small and too short. I need to purchase all new equipment for handling these two dogs. We are also going to show in UKC shows.

I have gone to websites and am having trouble chosing appropriate sizes and lengths. It is hard to tell the size of a collar link from a website and it is difficult to tell the diamter of a leash or show lead as well.

Would anyone feel comfortable making SPECIFIC recommendations as to what is correct and appropriate for showing a growing puppy GSD bitch (neck is 18 inches now) and an adult male (neck is 24 inches)? Brands and sizes/lengths would be much appreciated. I guess that it should also be said that I am only 4 foot 10 inches tall. With Sabra, I do realize that I will need to purchase at least two different size collars potentially or work with a leathersmith that will give me extra holes for growth. We are doing basic obedience and conformation classes that both begin this weekend. I will wing it with what I have for now, but would like to get pointed in the right direction for showing.