German Shepherd Dog Forums

German Shepherd Dog Forums (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/)
-   Search & Rescue (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/search-rescue/)
-   -   What age? (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/search-rescue/461857-what-age.html)

Broncs 06-19-2014 12:03 AM

What age?

I am new to SAR and am curious as to what age most of you start your dogs in SAR training? I am getting involved with my local SAR group and we will be starting Zander's traing in about 10 days and he will be just over 10 weeks at that time.

gsdsar 06-19-2014 12:08 AM

What age?

10 weeks is very young. Most SAR training does not really begin until the pups are about 6-8 months old.

But getting him out, playing with the team members, socializing is very good.

My boy is 17 months and started HRD about 3 weeks ago. Needed to give him time to mature.

But in that time he was well socialized, started in new areas, did some fun runaways and got to be out and about, and we did some obedience. All the while focusing his drive, developing work ethic, and agility.

Good luck and have fun learning!!! It's a heck if a ride!!!

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

DutchKarin 06-19-2014 01:10 AM

I started with Tygo at 10 or 12 weeks or so. What that meant is that I went to training and we started on little run aways. The rest of the time, he was crated and I hid for people and started learning what I needed to learn. If the group allows it, starting with runaways and other little training exercises, all fun all the time, is a great way to get started.

Zylozes 07-03-2014 10:40 AM

I'm basically doing the same thing as you are.

Kingsj 07-11-2014 02:00 PM