German Shepherd Dog Forums

German Shepherd Dog Forums (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/)
-   Search & Rescue (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/search-rescue/)
-   -   Developing Hunt Drive? (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/search-rescue/421801-developing-hunt-drive.html)

Bequavious 03-09-2014 10:20 PM

Developing Hunt Drive?

So my girl passed the initial evaluation to begin HRD training, and we're signed up for a weekend handler's course in the beginning of April. I'm totally new to this, and I'm feeling a little intimidated. I got my girl as a companion, but I also want to give her a job and this is what we've stumbled into. She's the only shepherd on the team that isn't from working lines. I guess it wouldn't be the end of the world if she washes out, but I want to give her the best chance possible to succeed.

Is there anything I can be working on to help develop her hunt drive in the next few weeks before we go to the class? I know hunt drive is not the only aspect of a good HRD dog, but I think it's probably where we need the most improvement.

gsdsar 03-09-2014 10:35 PM

Is she toy driven or food driven? What kind if eval? Are you working with a team?

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

jocoyn 03-09-2014 11:04 PM

Curious about what team? The only one I know in that area is SCSD to the SE and STARR a bit further from you to the NW...as well as some SUSAR folks trying to make a go of it in Columbia. What kind of evaluation?

harmony 03-09-2014 11:22 PM

Do you know what you asking for? What are you going to hunt?

carmspack 03-09-2014 11:25 PM

tell us a bit more about your dog present state.
lines don't matter ---

jocoyn 03-10-2014 12:08 AM