Advice for Schutzhund/IPO Newbie? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-10-2014, 12:26 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Advice for Schutzhund/IPO Newbie?

Hello! I'm a newbie to the Schutzhund/IPO sport. I'm going to my first club meeting to check out the club and meet the members. I have a 7 month old DDR GSD, and would like to begin training right away, but I'm nervous about being dead weight to the club because I don't have anything to contribute. I've looked for a private trainer for some time, but there doesn't seem to be anyone qualified who offers IPO training in my area. Is there any advice you would give a newbie like me before I go to my first club meeting? I'm just going to show up to one of their training days because no one I've contacted from their web site has answered my messages, and they have a message on the website that says new members can attend 3 meets before committing. Thanks for the advice in advance!
BlairTheGSD is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-10-2014, 12:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Crowned Member

Different clubs have different policies and procedures. You're in the south (I lived there for 12 years) and the club may not be meeting during the summer. So do not be too surprised if no one is there. They may not be accepting new members either. (Some clubs limit the number of members - which keeps the training day managable.)

What I would do is:
double check for a phone number from the website
search on line for a phone number for one of the contacts if none is listed
call and say you would like to come observe
if there is no luck with a phone number or phone contact, I would send an email to the people you have contacted before saying you would like to observe and will be coming with that in mind.