German Shepherd Dog Forums

German Shepherd Dog Forums (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/)
-   Schutzhund/IPO Training (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/schutzhund-ipo-training/)
-   -   Tracking advice? (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/schutzhund-ipo-training/433137-tracking-advice.html)

Anubis_Star 04-03-2014 12:14 PM

Tracking advice?

So we're currently working our way towards our BH, expecting to get it at the club's September trial (Berlin, 15 months).

We havent done a ton of tracking work. I will be speaking with my trainer on Sunday about doing more. But for now, I've simply been stomping out big circles in the grass, marking 3 sides with a flag, dropping hot dogs or other high value treats behind me as I stomp, and then leading him up to the circle, commanding "track", and releasing him. He seems to be doing good staying on the circle and sniffing out the treats.

Freddy 04-03-2014 12:17 PM

I'm not an expert on tracking but my dog is pretty consistent. The first thing I would do is go to one flag to indicate the presence of a scent circle/start of track, and remove the others. The 2nd and 3rd flag are visual indicators of the edge of the circle and you don't want the dog to become accustomed to that. You want them to use the nose to determine that.

Liesje 04-03-2014 12:24 PM

I use one flag and I pull the dog off before he gets all the food, so he doesn't wander around and get bored. Are you doing circle tracks or scent pads? If I do scent pads, they aren't that big (maybe 4'x4').

Anubis_Star 04-03-2014 12:25 PM

Circle tracks, we've yet to do anything with scent pads. And yes, I do pull him off before he is done to avoid him losing interest.

Good idea about the flag, I never thought about that

Freddy 04-03-2014 12:55 PM