Would it be stupid to not get my GSD titled - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-14-2013, 11:42 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Would it be stupid to not get my GSD titled

Hey guys....I've been thinking....My male GSD is only 13 weeks old. My goal is personal protection trained and family member. My sons are 1 1/2 and 4 1/2 years old. I know it's a long process to train one for personal protection....Would it be stupid to put all this dedication and work in for a personal protection dog and not get him titled in something also? His pedigree is great, wouldn't I want to carry that great pedigree on? He might end up being a great protection dog, but nothing on paper will show it.

What do you think about this? (I'm new to training, but I'm determined to carry it out.) It greatly interests me and I want my GSD to be a well mannered, obiendent and protective family member.....With children in the house, I have to stay on top of it...

I've never raised a Male GSD....When they reach certain ages, will they try to test me more, try showing dominance. What are common ages for a male to start expressing these things? I want to make sure I know what to expect and look for.....

All opinions welcomed
Jmoore728 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-15-2013, 01:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Elite Member

It doesn't really matter. If you want to do it, then do it. You don't have to do anything if you don't want to. It is not stupid to focus on only what you're looking to achieve, provided you never neglect your dog. If your dog is a fine example of the breed, he will prove it in his work.

Pookie, Papillon 4/17/09
Kaiser, GSD 4/14/11
Verivus is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2013, 10:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned