Schutzhund advice. - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-06-2013, 05:57 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Schutzhund advice.

Hi. I was wondering if you could help me with something . I have a 2.5 year old female GSD with a very high toy / food drive. I'm currently trying to get her titled if schutzhund, but this is my first Sch dog and I'm still learning how and when to correct her and get what I want out of her. In addition, she is a pet, my best friend and great protector of my kids and family. Here is my question. The trainer with whom I've been working with for about a month offered to buy her because she's such a nice bitch. While I don't care about the money, I don't want to lose my best friend and side kick. My only concern is this. Am I doing her an injustice by using her as my first Sch dog since I am making mistakes and apparently not as clear as I should be with commands? This trainer isn't the first to offer to buy her. I had another breeder offer me two pups for her and I turned him down. I've been told that she can certainly go far in the sport, I'm just afraid I'm holding her back. Any suggestions as to books on training etc. would be greatly appreciated. I'd also appreciate some feedback from Sch trainers and handlers. Thanks.

Sent from Petguide.com Free App
Jsweeney76 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-06-2013, 06:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Crowned Member

your dog does not care what titles she earns....she is your buddy and loves you and your family....

If you love the dog, keep it. Train her for fun and to enjoy working with her....don't sell her because she will do better in the sport for someone else....