Interested in Schutzhund - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-09-2013, 04:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Elite Member

Question Interested in Schutzhund

I'm a total newbie when it comes to shutzhund...but I am interested in it. How do I get involved?? How time consuming is it? Is it expensive? What do I need to know?? How do i begin to train my dog for this? I have a 7.5 month old puppy, he has many SchH3 dogs in his pedigree, does this give him a better chance of being GOOD at schutzhund, or shall I say, a good prospect?? And actually every single dog in his 5 generation pedigree has atleast a SchH1. Also, what is IPO and what is the difference? Im located a bit North of Chicago, in the Northern suburbs, anyone know of any clubs around here...? Thanks much in advance..
Advertisement

Old 02-09-2013, 05:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Elite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsdlover91 View Post
I'm a total newbie when it comes to shutzhund...but I am interested in it. How do I get involved?? How time consuming is it? Is it expensive? What do I need to know?? How do i begin to train my dog for this? I have a 7.5 month old puppy, he has many SchH3 dogs in his pedigree, does this give him a better chance of being GOOD at schutzhund, or shall I say, a good prospect?? And actually every single dog in his 5 generation pedigree has atleast a SchH1. Also, what is IPO and what is the difference? Im located a bit North of Chicago, in the Northern suburbs, anyone know of any clubs around here...? Thanks much in advance..
First, you'll want to get involved with a Schutzhund club. Here are a couple in your area:
Chicago Schutzhund Verein
Topline German Shepherd Club of Illinois