Schutzhund and the novice handler - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-31-2012, 02:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Knighted Member

Default Schutzhund and the novice handler

I'm just wondering how all of you got started in schutzhund?

I am really interested in it. I've been interested in it since before I got my pup (now 6 months old). Since getting her, I've traveled with her to training days etc. to watch her pappa be worked and get a sense of what it's about.

Here's my question:

For a novice handler, how do they get started? It's not really as simple as finding a club (I found one), but also finding the right dog *for their experience level*.

I am a rank beginner, I didn't want to 'out-dog' myself. I was the only pet owner out of the entire litter, so while my pup has the genetics (all the other pups went to working homes - SAR, K9, sheep herding, firehouse & schutzhund), I'm a bit worried that she might be a bit soft for schutzhund, but I'd still like to give it a go.

Her pappa's owner thinks she's a great dog who would do well at it and thinks I'd be a good handler, but in watching the others working older dogs (I realize she's just a pup), some of their dogs are so intense and I look at my pup and I'm wondering if that's in her somewhere?

Is it pointless to try schutzhund with a softer dog? She is VERY bonded to me (has a tantrum if someone tries to take her away from me) and is a submissive pee-er. I'm thinking these may be two red flags that it's not in her, but can a dog like this be developed? I don't think she'll be a world champion, but I'm hoping she would do ok with work.