New Puppy Training Schedule? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2012, 01:43 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default New Puppy Training Schedule?

I have a brand new puppy (Wesson) that I want to do schutzhund with, so I really want to be sure that he has a strong base to start off with and that I don't skip something that he will need for later. A training schedule or calendar would be perfect, especially if it could tell me when different activities are age appropriate!

I know to feed him his meals on a scent pad, and do bite work with a rag, and get him stayed on his focus, but what else do I need to be sure I am incorporating right now? I want to make sure I don't miss any steps as this is my first try at this! Thanks in advance for any advice anyone can give me!
EverSummer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-26-2012, 02:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Italian One

Have you found a club to train with yet? Probably the best advice I could give is to go out and find a club you feel comfortable with. Visit a few different clubs if you can. Bring the puppy with on visits for socialization.

USCA Clubs in TX
USA - South Central Clubs

GSDCA-WDA Clubs in TX
clubs_reg6

I can’t find any DVG Clubs in TX sorry.

I also like Louise Jollyman’s site. Here’s the puppy page with some good tips;
Schutzhund-Training.com - Puppy Tips

Good luck and enjoy!

Bark A Little on Facebook
Vinnie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-26-2012, 02:52 PM   #3 (permalink)