Beginning Schutzhund - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2011, 09:56 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Beginning Schutzhund

Does anyone have any reccommendations for beginners getting in to schutzhund? I am actively looking for a puppy that will fit my family and will be a complete newby to dog sports. I am looking for books, videos or websites that will help me learn how to socialize the pup properly and get started on our learning journey together. I plan on contacting my local club near Raleigh, but would like to have a strong base of understanding first. Thanks guys and gals!

"People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf."-George Orwell
NCLawDog is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-27-2011, 10:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Crowned Member

Just go to the club. You'll learn more from hanging out and talking to people than you will from the internet or books. Plus, you'll have the added bonus of getting to meet different dogs of different bloodlines and watching them work, so you'll get a great idea of what you want and don't want in a dog. Then, when the dogs that you really like in your area are going to be bred, you'll be among the first to know! There's even a chance that you'll get a better price on a pup than John Public because the breeder knows you're serious about getting involved in the sport.

At the Bridge:
Cash van der Animal Shelter 2006-2010
Emoore is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2011, 10:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
The Administrator from the Great White North, eh?

I was going to post but Emoore beat me to it!

What she said! Contact the club now, go out and watch a few times. Ask lots of questions!

Keeta BH, OB1, TR1, AD