Aggressive Biting - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2012, 10:23 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Aggressive Biting

I am a new GSD puppy owner and I have notcied a daily routine of aggressive play with my pup Bailey. She only does it about once or twice a day and since I am new to the dog world I am not sure how to "correctly" repremand her and show her it is not ok. She attacks my hands during play and I almost feel that she gets too excited or when I yelp it makes her charge me more.

Please give me some advise as to what and what not to do!

Thanks!
SassySammi is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-05-2012, 10:27 AM   #2 (permalink)

spray water in the puppies face with a spray bottle.
Bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2012, 10:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Elite Member

Spray water in the puppy's face? REALLY? Sorry Bubbles, but I don't think that's very helpful.

First off ... how old is your puppy? This is a normal thing for puppies to go through ... they are learning bite inhibition - how hard is too hard ... when soft is acceptable, etc.

To teach her to stop ... when she bites your hand you can say OUCH in a firm voice and then give her a toy that is appropriate for her to chew on / play with and encourage her to play with it (wave it at her, drag it along the floor, etc.)

There are many threads in here under puppies, and biting that you can read to get a better idea on how to handle this very normal behaviour.

Why don't I agree with the spray bottle? She might simply turn around and start biting at the bottle - which is in your hand ... so you could end up getting bit even harder ... and secondly, what do you do with the dog that LOVES to be sprayed in the face?