Help! My sweet,calm 5 month old puppy is out of control! - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2010, 05:06 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Help! My sweet,calm 5 month old puppy is out of control!

I have had Shepherds in the past but it's been awhile since having a pup and I didn't have small children then.
I have a 5 month old female that I started training basic sit, down, stay and come at about 8 weeks old, she's been doing fine.
I did clicker train her and used treats, something that I never did before and had mixed feelings about the treats
Anyway we have a nice acre lot with our home sitting in the middle of the lot and it's all fenced off. She also spends time in a large crate in our laundry area off and on during the day and at nighttime.
My main problem is that she is no longer responding to me; coming when called, telling her no, and lying down when there is no treats in hand. She also is becoming a huge pest with my boys ages 6 and 4 are outside trying to play. She is jumping, running circles, licking thier face and nipping at hands and ankles for attention. She is now bigger and today we got a good scratch close to an eye. She is also being a huge pest to my Pug dog. She is always trying to stand over him and when he moves she nips him like crazy sometimes it can get ugly. I try and not strongly react but be firm with my commands.
At first I was able to control this behavior but it's not working anymore and seems to be getting worse.
I do train her a few times a day and we play fetch to burn off some energy but it can be a challenge as well and sometimes I have to ignore her to get her to return the toy back to me.