German Shepherds Forum banner

Extreme Diareaha

3K views 20 replies 11 participants last post by  Magwart 
#1 ·
(Will never spell that right)
We've had a 7 week old for almost a week now and his poop has been worsening. It is no longer even logs, just a puddle. This is the worst I've ever seen on anyone. When he goes, the poop litterly goes up as if it was a fountain. We changed his food from what the breeder gave him, but he would not eat, so we changed it again, and the poop has been consistently worsening. Please help.
Raquan

#2 ·
I'm struggling with issues with my dog as well so I am NO expert lol but... when you have been changing his food, are you doing it drastically / all of a sudden? I'm guessing so if you've only had him for a week. The proper way to change a dog's kibble is to transition them from the old to the new over the course of a few days to a week. Adding a little of the new with most of the old. For example if you are feeding 1 cup 3 times a day, I would feed 3/4 cup of the old and 1/4 cup of the new for each meal for a day or two, then transition to half and half, and so on until you are feeding all of the new.

I'm sure plenty of other members that have more experience and are more knowledgeable then me will chime in, but have you taken your dog to the vet yet? Bring them a stool sample so they can test for parasites/worms. This is normal protocol for a puppy regardless the condition of the stool.

#9 ·
Trust your gut.......if he doesn't look well......get him to the vet!

IF all is ok you can try this bland diet (see below) for several days then introduce the kibble very VERY slowly. I think his gut is in distress from changing to quickly and from the fact he is in a new environment with new owners.

Bland Diet:
To help get the diarrhea under control, you shoul withhold food for 12 hours (for Puppies) or 24 hours for adults. Then begin the bland diet.