Extreme Diareaha - German Shepherd Dog Forums
 11Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 08-23-2016, 12:56 PM Thread Starter

Extreme Diareaha

(Will never spell that right)
We've had a 7 week old for almost a week now and his poop has been worsening. It is no longer even logs, just a puddle. This is the worst I've ever seen on anyone. When he goes, the poop litterly goes up as if it was a fountain. We changed his food from what the breeder gave him, but he would not eat, so we changed it again, and the poop has been consistently worsening. Please help.
Raquan
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 08-23-2016, 01:59 PM

I'm struggling with issues with my dog as well so I am NO expert lol but... when you have been changing his food, are you doing it drastically / all of a sudden? I'm guessing so if you've only had him for a week. The proper way to change a dog's kibble is to transition them from the old to the new over the course of a few days to a week. Adding a little of the new with most of the old. For example if you are feeding 1 cup 3 times a day, I would feed 3/4 cup of the old and 1/4 cup of the new for each meal for a day or two, then transition to half and half, and so on until you are feeding all of the new.

I'm sure plenty of other members that have more experience and are more knowledgeable then me will chime in, but have you taken your dog to the vet yet? Bring them a stool sample so they can test for parasites/worms. This is normal protocol for a puppy regardless the condition of the stool.
Gretchen and Mudypoz like this.

Sage - Sable GSD - DOB: 8/20/15
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 08-23-2016, 02:07 PM
The Friendly Neighborhood Witch Mod

Take him to the vet. Bring a stool sample. Have them check for parasites (giardia comes to mind).
Mudypoz likes this.

post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 08-23-2016, 02:10 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by randyhernz View Post