Saved from the streets--GSD or GSD+? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2012, 03:24 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Saved from the streets--GSD or GSD+?

Hello everyone! This is my dog Hector:

I found Hector dumped in the desert almost a year ago. To make a long story short, after a fruitless search for owners just in case (circumstances made it pretty clear what happened, but I wanted to be sure), I decided to keep him. Hector has a forever home with me no matter what, I take him with me everywhere I can and am not sure how I got on without him before.

However, I am not (or was not, anyway!) a GSD person, and I keep getting mixed feedback about whether he's purebred or not, and what his lines might be. I personally don't see anything but GSD in him, but like I said I'm not an expert!

So what do you guys think? GSD, a mix, or a similar breed? If GSD, what do you think his lineage is (if you have a guess)? I don't really care in a real sense, he's my dog regardless, but I think it's fun to hear what people who know more about the breed have to say.

Something you can't see in the photos really but that is a big sticking point for a lot of GSD folks is that he has dew claws in front and back. Apparently (according to some), that is pretty much unheard-of in the breed.

Sorry for the hiking gear, it is really hard to get decent conformation shots of this dog. I can try to get some better ones when I get home this evening.

Thanks so much!
RowdyDogs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-14-2012, 03:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Crowned Member

I say high mix. There is something off about his eyes (to light) and his forehead. He's very handsome!

It's MICHELLE, scarfish! My name is MICHELLE! Jax is my DOG!