PPD framework for 9 week GSD male. - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2013, 01:46 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default PPD framework for 9 week GSD male.

How is everyone doing? We just purchased another GSD last week. We had to put down our 4 year old female about 6 months ago. She had Lymphoma. She was our first GSD and we def learned A LOT of lessons with her. She had moderate/Severe Elbow and Hip dysphasia. She had many medical problems but she was a very great dog. Once we found out about the hip and elbow problems, my SchH training stopped. I'm still a newbie to training...She was a great family dog.

We finally decided it was time to buy another one. I got male pick of the litter. He came home with us on the 8th. I'm not trying to rush any training or push him fast. I don't want to mess him up. I'm taking it slow with him....I understand any actual protection work won't happen until he is mature.

I'm going to throw out my goals and any other information you might find useful. My main worry is breaking the dogs spirit or doing too much, too soon. I'm all for motivational/positive training. I very interested/determined on learning dog training methods. Everyone trainer has to be a newbie at some point. I understand I will need professional help when it comes to bite work/ and having a decoy.