German Shepherd Dog Forums

German Shepherd Dog Forums (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/)
-   Obedience & Rally (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/obedience-rally/)
-   -   Everything A Newbie Needs To Know About Trials (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/obedience-rally/194399-everything-newbie-needs-know-about-trials.html)

bethany.cole2013 11-14-2012 08:14 PM

Everything A Newbie Needs To Know About Trials

Okay, so in March there will be some AKC obedience trials coming pretty locally to us. I'm interested in starting to trial some with AKC, but I am COMPLETELY new to the whole showing thing. Anything a newbie might need to know about AKC obedience trialing would be great. Any tips, etc that you can offer would be great.

FlyAway 11-15-2012 10:21 AM

What class are you entering? Novice Obedience? Pre-novice? Have you taken any classes geared towards a trial?

Definitely find a fun match or Show 'n Go to get a critique before you go to the real trial. I learned about "Handler Error" at a special training class for AKC obedience. There is so much to the details. Definitely read and understand every word in the AKC Obedience regulations about the class you are entering. It explains what judges are looking for and scoring.

gagsd 11-15-2012 10:31 AM

Read the rule book.... then read it again:)

bethany.cole2013 11-15-2012 08:10 PM

I'll be entering the Beginner Novice A, since neither me or my dog has earned a title in any AKC sport before. Any other special tips like for on show day and at the show? Or special tips in preparation?

Karla 11-16-2012 11:40 AM

I'm always happy to see someone interested in competing! Obedience numbers have declined over the years and getting people to participate in the sport is what keeps it going. I'm excited for you!

Others have already given you some good info.

Anyway, please read AKC's "Getting Started in Obedience" and the rules and regulations.
I also found some helpful advice here: