Newbie Here! - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2013, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Newbie Here!

Hi all!

So, I'm not new to the breed (I grew up with GSDs), but I am new to the forum. I stumbled upon ya'll when I was doing some casual Googling to find clues about our new little mutt. I can't tell you exactly how old he is, but we are thinking he is at least part Shepherd? He was from a MN rescue group (some lesser human decided he/she would leave the little guy tied to a fence by the railroad the week after Christmas...if you aren't familiar with our weather, it was about 10F that week...). Anyway, after searching this site, I started to notice his coloring bears a strong resemblance to a bi-color(ed) shepherd. That said, I can't imagine anyone would pay for a purebred and discard him like trash, so I'm assuming he is mixed with something. Thought you all might take a guess since the lot of you seem pretty well-versed in the shepherd world. I am thinking he is about 8-10 weeks - he weighs about 13lbs and his ears are getting perkier every day. Just 6 days ago, his left (photo's right) ear was very loose and flat on his head and now it is gaining some life! The other one looks like he will have at least one pointy ear! But who knows?!? Mutts are so much fun! His back feet look like his front and he has "tarheels" (a term I just learned from this forum!) as well as a little light butt/under tail. Under his chin down to his chest is almost gray and he has a very thin, vertical light line between his front legs. His little nose is a bit lighter than the rest of his face and he has very faint tan patches on the sides of his face, as well as a few tan hairs at his eyebrows. Sorry the pics aren't the best...if only puppies would HOLD STILL!!!